19:10:15 – The Problem

by liamdaisley

One of the big problems I have is with Confined Animal Farming Operations (CAFO) in the US. I’d like to focus on this, but I’m not convinced that my work would appeal to a UK audience.

The conditions that KFC farmers keep some chickens are can be problematic because people are funding it. http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2999689/The-35-day-life-KFC-chicken-shed-34-000-birds-Documentary-reveals-conditions-23-million-birds-fast-food-chain-uses-year-kept-in.html

Presentation of advertised food and false advertising (McDonalds, Subway, Taco Bell) but it’s just not a very big problem is all.

Deficits of cola:

The sweeteners in Coca Cola are worse for you than the sugar http://www.wddty.com/the-not-so-sweet-truth.html

how-bad-is-coke-for-your-body

I believe that there is a missing element of responsibility that needs to be confronted by food companies such as McDonalds and Coca Cola.

http://healthland.time.com/2012/04/05/yes-food-can-be-addictive-says-the-director-of-the-national-institute-on-drug-abuse/

Sugar and Addiction is problematic. In my opinion, because so few people know about it.

They have a responsibility to the animals that are being farmed and the paying consumers eating them, although to some extent I do blame the consumer.

One of the problems I have with food is knowing what the ingredients in the food I’m eating are doing to me. We have a lot more information nowadays which is great but it doesn’t explain what glucose-dextrose is doing to my body.

Right now it feels like I’m pursuing design-journalism, and like a lot of investigative journalism which is primarily gas, I was to pick an actual problem.

It can’t relate to student foods because they seem to be coping well so I’ll drop that one

