22:10:15 – Thinking About Legitimate Intervention

by liamdaisley

It’s occurred to me that almost all of my research has focused on exposing a problem (battery farmed Chickens, CAFO, bad quality food and false advertising) rather than intervening in a way that shifts behaviour in a different way.

When I think about the habits I want people to change, two subjects come to mind.

  1. Encouraging soft drink consumers to switch to healthier alternatives
  2. Encouraging fast food consumers to switch to healthier food stuffs

What will create a change?

  • Highlighting the issues with a bad consumption habit
  • Indicating a healthier alternative

But what about all the healthy eating campaigns that do this already? Do they work?

The Independent’s 2010 article here says no: http://www.independent.co.uk/life-style/health-and-families/health-news/decade-of-spending-on-health-messages-has-had-little-effect-1894551.html

Here’s a campaign the government endorse. They use techniques that discourage unhealthy eating for the sake of their kids, using facts to back it up.

9/10 of our kids would grow up to have dangerous amounts of fat build up in their bodies. Which meant heart disease, diabetes, and cancer.

When I think of the audiences I share a relationship with and want to impact based on their unhealthy eating habits, I think of my mates and other university students.

I’ve got 2 roommates that come to mind when I consider this.

  1. Jonny, actually a qualified chef, and despite bringing various cooking tools to uni, is yet to use any of them, opting for Tesco’s ready-made meals
  2. Nick, the second, would not leave his room unless he had to. He actually didn’t for the duration of freshers week. We live on Ecclesall Road, a student orientated area of Sheffield that an individual wouldn’t have to leave in order to survive providing they had an income. All of life’s necessary are somewhere along this road.

They eat at places such as Harlequins and KFC because it’s an easy alternative to cooking.

I feel like no ad campaigns have targeted students effectively and I reckon my work will wind up focusing on this.

Problem. I believe that their is a stigma attached to people who want to encourage a change to a lot of behaviours, especially

