28:10:15 – Vintage Advertising and Satirical Interpretation

by liamdaisley

I collected a small series of vintage advertisements:

Screen Shot 2015-10-28 at 14.32.39

Screen Shot 2015-10-28 at 14.32.19

Screen Shot 2015-10-28 at 14.32.26

What struck me in particular was that the adverts sell a “happy, traditional American family” package with their advertising. Though this approach is used in this day and age. Looking back at these, I find their tactics clear.

I mean come on. When was the last time you saw someone that happy on the phone? [Image Above].

I feel like these images are selling a reality that does’t exist which is exactly what I’ve come to realise these big companies are doing when they sell you, for example:

Diet Coke (which contains sweeteners that can be worse for you than the original product)
Supermarket Products like Asda Smart Price Sausages (who promise a cheap product which takes out of consideration taste and quality)
Fast Food restaurants (whose food is bad for you.

Taking inspiration from these sources aesthetically led me to the idea that I might consider using a business perspective/ tone of voice that sees my work communicating satirically towards both my audience (micro) and business that sells these “fantastic new products!!!” (macro). This will differentiate my campaign from all the others I’ve seen throughout my research.

Damon Albarn’s Superfash Jellyfish plays on this plays on this with:

A slightly distorted introductory advert indicates signifiers of an old television advert, of which I imagine this happy family is portrayed. Other signs include:

An Absurd Product (a floating Jellyfish)

Reference to a plastic donut spoken by a man with an intentionally dumbed-down accent (A fictional potential audience member).

And a taste referred to as just like chicken(obviously fake).

___________

I know however that using this visual style with my blunt student perspective would create a clash.

So what if I used this vintage style and cartoonish optimism as a channel for my sarcastic approach?

An example being to change from:

As a student those 34% pork sausages must have been a great idea, ay?!
And the water pumped into them must be keeping you hydrated too!
Don’t be an idiot and shop somewhere that considers the nutritional value of the food it’s selling to you.

To:
“Oh Boy! 34% pork sausages only 2p each at ASDA!

Watch out there little Timothy, Asda put pork fat and additives in there product.

Don’t be an idiot today and shop somewhere that considers the nutritional value of the food they’re selling to you.

This would give me a visual reference that synchronises with a tone of voice. I’ll blog the illustration I did of the changes I thought up later today, but just to be clear:

The tone of voice my work aims to convey is one of sarcasm and satire.

1950s vintage advertisements sell non-existent ideals, similarly to the advertising broadcast by business today (Coca Cola, Asda, etc)

_________

Acting as an organisation/ business changes how my work will be perceived.

Firstly, I need to make sure that the fake vintage ideal is conveyed noticeably to suggest a lack of seriousness about the business-like characteristics I aim to convey.

Using this approach makes:

The Business (who have appeared to advertise the content):

Look inconsiderate to the audience (due to a satirical impersonation through means that they would usually communicate to their audiences through)

Look accurate to me based on my research (of cheap production, food keeping methods, trickery)

Make the Student:

Look like the business is taking advantage of the customer (due to their heads over heels attitude)

Look naive (with drooling mouths and desires to sweep up a deal.)

Makes the Designer:

Look like he’s making a mockery of everyone involved (Because of how I’m using commercial advertising and how I’m illustrating the the audience)

Feel like he’s framing everyone in perspective (personal opinion)

My work will provide a satirical perception of business advertising itself (Macro) as well as the audience members who I am also criticising (Micro)

___________________

I think these pictures are a goo example of 1950s advertising. But i can’t use this advertisement structure. Adverts aren’t made when large body’s of text anymore and it’s because people aren’t willing to pay attention to that sort of content for that long.

Because my work should work to intervene, it needs to be easy to digest. Consequentially, my layout will be modern.

Screen Shot 2015-11-01 at 16.28.55 Screen Shot 2015-11-01 at 16.28.49

8bca8c8287d8783b6e1119f0f5fcef21

