29:10:15 – Character Design

by liamdaisley

I’ve referred to 1950’s references to video game, Fallout 4.

After my illustration earlier on ___, I looked more into Vault Boy, a fictional character in the game.

I read that “In the Fallout games, Vault Boy is used to provide an iconic representation of almost all stats (perks, traits, skills etc.)

Looking to my work, thats really what my attempt to illustrate a character is doing. Conveying an ideal that represents my audience.

Alina Wheelers Designing Brand Identity said (on the matter of characters), that “A character trademark embodies brand attributes or values“. This again relates to creating an ideal. This perfectly correlates with my observation of 1950’s idealism.

One of Disney’s first depictions of Mickey Mouse inSteamboat Willie is another example of a character that I ought to take inspiration from.
He just cruises through life with not a care in the world, just like my audience members.

